Back from OS

Have just arrived back to my ‘puter, where I can do some of this stuff.

Things have been pretty quiet while I have been away.

I have noticed a couple of examples of censorship though, which I will cite in comments below.

4 Responses to “Back from OS”

  1. rcrejects Says:

    The first example relates to OM rather than RC, and the post appeared on Newsbusters.

    PopTech…March 18, 2009 – 15:45

    ET by Doc_Navy

    I posted a similar list over at “Open Mind” a couple of weeks ago, in response to some warmalist who was asserting that AGW caused the Aussie wildfires this year. (IE: local weather events = Global Climate Change) My Argument being that if the Alarmists and Warmalists could use local weather events to PROVE that AGW was real… I could do the same (and with FAR, FAR more examples) to prove that it didn’t exist.

    I listed ~ONLY~ new historical record low temps and record snow and ice falls, their locations, the previous all time record, and the dataset they were logged in. I also included 10, FIRST TIME in human history type cold events that have happened within the last 3 years, their location, and description with links.

    Know what happend??

    I got Censored. Ad Hommed. Called “Stupid”, “Lazy”, and “Deceitful”… then banned. And it was my FIRST ever post on that board.

    Gotta love Tamino.

    Reference: http://newsbusters.org/blogs/p-j-gladnick/2009/03/18/global-warming-alarmist-irked-cold-weather

  2. rcrejects Says:

    The second is a mention of RC by Jeff Id at CA on the Steig’s Secret Data thread:

    Post 8

    Jeff Id: March 25th, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Re: Steve McIntyre (#6),

    Slow learner.

    I left a question on the RC thread but maybe I should have asked it here, it would probably get a faster response. I kept it simple so Steig wouldn’t tell me to take his Matlab class or something.

    “Gavin, Is there an intentional block to the AVHRR data on Dr. Steig’s site?”

    A few minutes later Jeff Id put up a second post:

    Post 9
    Jeff Id: March 25th, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    My rude and unprofessional question was deleted.

  3. rcrejects Says:

    Lucia comments in her blog (The Blackboard) in the thread ‘Look, I can use made-up data just like Gavin can” that she HASN’T been censored at RC. She does have some other observations though.

    lucia (Comment#12670)
    March 30th, 2009 at 8:12 am

    @Andrew and Nathan:

    So far, I’ve still had no comments censored at RC:
    http://www.realclimate.org/ind…..ent-116607

    So:
    a) I sometimes comment there,
    b) I hate the process having to wait and see whether the comment appeared hours later, knowing there is moderation hurdle and knowing that, should someone wish to make an inline comment, the “rebuttal” will *always* be directly next to my comment, but my response to the “rebuttals” will always be separated by numerous other comments on somewhat different subject but
    c) I haven’t had any of my own comments not appear and
    d) I obviously won’t be checking regularly to see if my comment spawned any further discussion.

    In short, I don’t think RC comments are structured for anything resembling “discussion”. They are structured the way I would structure a blog written by a professor for students. In that case, moderation and inline comments make sense. But for bloggers… not so much.

  4. rcrejects Says:

    Some vigorous discussion regarding censorship/moderation at WUWT in contrast to policies at RC over at The Air Vent http://noconsensus.wordpress.com/2009/04/02/ten-replies-to-gavin-advocacy-vs-science/

    There is also quite a bit of discussion at RC ‘Advocacy vs Science’ thread
    http://www.realclimate.org/index.php/archives/2009/04/advocacy-vs-science/langswitch_lang/zh

    Rather than cut and paste comments from those sites, I suggest that you go over there and have a look.

Leave a Reply

